Afternoon walks

8 Comments

My routine is not at all blogging friendly at the moment… all my energy is going into looking after Livia who is almost 5 months already! I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to get her into a more predictable routine, which will free me up to do more things away from her, but it’s hard to let go especially when one lives and works in the same place. Even when I think things will get done during her nap time other distractions occur that take me away from my to-do-list. Sadly, blogging is currently at the very bottom of the list especially since I’m not doing much in the garden or kitchen or getting out and about on the farm to take interesting photos. In addition, little Hope broke her leg the other day when she jumped off the bakkie while it was moving fast. So now I have a little patient in the house for 6 weeks until her leg heals. She needs lots of attention to keep her out of mischief and regular trips outside on a lead – almost like having another baby in the house!

Part of my routine with Liva is to go for a late afternoon walk with the dogs (unfortunately Hopey will have to stay home for a while). We walk down into the valley and back, which is about 2 kilometres. I used to take her in the pram, but it keeps getting flat tires from all the rocks and thorns on the way. She’s big enough to face forward in her sling now so we do that instead. Some days we come across lots of cows, other days it’s sheep coming home to kraal. Some days there’s nothing but guinea fowl, herons and ducks. The late-autumn light is soft and casts a gentle glow over the brown veld. We lap up the stillness as I sing songs to her and gently admonish Paris for stepping on my heels. These photos were taken on Mother’s Day when Quentin joined us for our walk. Hopefully we’ll be able to keep it up in winter, wrapped up in our warm jackets of course!

2014-05-12_00012014-05-12_00022014-05-12_00032014-05-12_00042014-05-12_0005

8 thoughts on “Afternoon walks

  1. I love your words and pics from the other side of the world! We’re just heating up for summer…I’m half jealous of you, autumn is my favorite season.

    Like

  2. Hi

    I really enjoy reading your blog. I am also a farmers wife. We stay just outside east london and do dairy and pigs.
    Your posts are always so positive.
    P.S. My hubbies name is also Quentin…

    I look forward to your next blog post.

    Like

    • Hi Geraldine! Thank you so much for the feedback. I’m really glad that you enjoy reading about our goings on at Vastrap. I’ve had my ups and downs over the last few months as a new mommy, but it’s easy to be positive when writing about the farm. We have so much to be thankful for! Do you know the Peinke’s from East London?

      Like

      • hi

        Yes. They are partly related to my husband. Its a small world.
        I would love to be a stay at home/working mom at home. But dairy is not an easy income. But our pigs are starting to pay off.

        Really nice to be in contact with other farming wives.

        Like

  3. I stumbled across your blog and I just LOVE it! We visited Ficksberg over Easter; my husband’s Grandmother lives there. Such a stunning part of the world! I’m busy reading through all your archives and catching up with your beautiful life on the farm 🙂 and your equally gorgeous little girl!

    I just wanted to leave a note about the forward-facing baby carriers and I hope you don’t mind! I’m a new mom too and through a wonderful Facebook group called NINO Babywearing South Africa, I learnt that forward facing is actually not good for baby’s hips and spine. It forces them into an unnatural position and it can have a detrimental effect on their development if done for too long. So I’ve switched to wearing my Little man (all 10kg of him! Ooof!) in a MeiTai type carrier on my back. He can still see where we are going and Mom still has her hands free!!

    So looking forward to more posts! xx
    Tara

    Like

    • Hi Tara, thanks so much for getting in touch! It’s great to meet another mom. Livia was born on 29 December so just over a month younger than your little one. I’ve felt quite isolated on the farm with a baby and few other moms to interact with so it would be great to keep in touch. Thanks for your tip on the baby carrier. I’ll look into it. Mine also carries on the back, but haven’t tried it yet. I quickly stopped over at your blog, which is also lovely. I went to school in Grahamstown (DSG) so I know your neck of the woods very well! Have also travelled back there a few times over the years. Lovely town! Take care, Marisa

      Like

    • Hi Tara, thanks so much for the heads up. I had no idea about this debate (bad mom!) Lately Livia’s been v squirmy when she faces in and seems happier facing our. The Beco Gemini carrier I have is supposed to be safer than other carriers facing out, but I’m still going to try the back position. Will let you know how it goes!

      Like

Leave a comment